Together,We Are Creating the Future of Our Twitter.

By Peter Tran (FairfaxTailor)

Checking out @curationstation’s twitter stream, I happened to click thru a tweeted link to @scottgould’s blog post on curation The End Of The Age Of Content as a participatory, collaborative process.

Gould’s big idea is that we must make Social Media social because,
frankly, it just isn’t social.

Gould’s criticism is that Social Media is dumbing us all down.
10 Ways to Market on Twitter, 20 Rules for Twitter Etiquette,
5 Things to do to get more blog readers, etc. – it’s what Gould calls depthless, dumb content. What we need more of – Gould suggests – is:

1. Conversation (talking with people – not at them)
2. Co-thinking
3. Analytical feedback
4. Collaborative curation, and
5. Originality

#thegentlemensmovement, for example, is how men are expressing
themselves on how they can make change… from the inside out.
@TheStyleGent started it, but there’s several contributors that have joined his bold voice. Myself included. It’s the ideal example for what @scottgould is saying we need more of.

Gould’s post got me thinking about the people on Twitter that I
follow. Some are friendly, kind and personable. Some are “botsu”.
Beyond their communication style or lack thereof, Gould’s question
comes to mind.

Are they contributors to our culture or are they
(as@hannibal666says it) polluting the fish tank?

@Faryna,for example, doesn’t tweet or retweet a lot.
But Stan Faryna does give us tremendous, deep insights ranging from God to online strategy. Perhaps, he doesn’t retweet often because he can think for himself. Don’t take my word for it, check out his blog: Stan Faryna Blog

Following Faryna’s Twitter Stream is a real privilege and that kind of privilege to connect with thought leaders like @Faryna makes Twitter untouchable by Facebook. I’m never going to ask him how’s his day going. And I don’t expect him to do #FF lists.

@hannibal666 is a disruptive voice that challenges the depth and charm of our muddy puddles with parody.
He has a frighteningly wicked observation of the ironic!
But #h666 couches his irony between silly,harmless quips.
Perhaps, he does this to disarm us.

@hannibal666 has the funniest blog ever about the people on Twitter.
His genius really shines thru when you take his feed out of real time and think about what he’s really saying: hannibal666 blog

But the most followed streams on Twitter
(celebrity streams included)
tend not to give us something to think about.
Something that helps us understand life.
Or the world that we live in.

Why is that? Is there something wrong with us?
Why does our common behavior as a group represent us as idiots and fools? The fact is that @scottgould can’t save us from ourselves.

Not if we can’t save us from ourselves!

Our future is the future of our making.

Peter Tran
Please follow me and my mom on Twitter: @FairfaxTailor

@FairfaxTailor
A Mom and Son Enterprise
We alter, repair and custom make clothes for people of discerning
taste and style.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

15 Responses to “Together,We Are Creating the Future of Our Twitter.”

  1. Thomas Waterhouse Says:

    I think Twitterverse is about as diverse as the Universe, and I personally wouldn’t have it any other way. That being said, my preference and personal style is born of a desire for contribution, interaction, and collaboration. I have growing relationships with people because of Twitter that I would never have had without that medium. In fact, this comment is evidence of what I just said! As I entered the arena of Twitter and Facebook, my concern as a social scientist was indeed that Social Media would isolate me, or somehow “dumb me down”. Fortunately, I am finding it to be a tremendous source of stimulation, ideas, and fresh new friendships. Perhaps it’s as simple as, “We take from Social Media that which we bring to Social Media”. Thank you so much for your thought-provoking article, and for our connection!

    • @FairfaxTailor Says:

      Mr. Waterhouse+

      It fills me with great pride to see your comment. You’ve given me things here that I want to think about and understand. It’s the best kind of encouragement!

      Peter

  2. Bonnie Says:

    Hello Peter

    I’ve not read a good blog post
    like this in awhile.

    Your doing a great job and learning
    quick.

    I couldn’t agree with this posting more.

    I agree with you about @hannibal666.
    He quite different but a very lovable person.

    Stan Faryna totally agree with you about him.

    Thanks for a great job on this blog.

    • @FairfaxTailor Says:

      Bonnie+

      Thank you for allowing me to write another guest post on your blog!

      I’m happy that you like my post.

      I’m a little embarrassed that I didn’t have more examples to talk about, but I’m just starting to get to know more about all the who’s who on Twitter. It takes time.

      Hopefully, @Faryna and @hannibal666 won’t be annoyed.

      Peter

      • bonnie squires Says:

        Peter this is a team effect and your welcome
        to post a blog any time.

        I’m learning from you threw your blog post
        and that I thank you for.

        Nothing to be embarrassed about not having
        more examples we are all learning and it will
        take time. Just like Rome wasn’t built in a night
        It will take you time to learn and me to. Yes it will
        take time Peter.

        I don’t think @Faryna and @hannibal666 will
        be annoyed at you.

        Thank you again and I look forward to doing
        more with you.

        Bonnie

  3. Monica Diaz Says:

    Depth is something we so crave as human beings! And many so fear it, too. I believe that this aspect of Twitter merely mirrors what has happened elsewhere in our communications. You find on Twitter and in life the kind of interactions you seek. I know I have found meaningful conversation, challenging thinking, engaging movements like #LeadChange. Conversation about my #OtherEsteem ideas, like minds, diverse viewpoints, great inspiration. But, then again…that’s what I seek. Getting your stream to the point of having these people on it requires IMO two things: AUTHENTICITY in your tweets (reflecting everything else you do), willingness to engage in meaningful conversation (and then extend to skype, phone, web conference or IRL), and generosity of thought to RT freely, learn from others, understand where they come from. Twitter is the tool, the MEDIA…WE are responsible for how we use it and what we allow it to become. Great points you bring up! Thanks.

    • @FairfaxTailor Says:

      Monica+

      I like your practical advice. It’s a little scary too. I think I can find the courage with cheerleaders like you! Courage to go beyond the tweet and connect in other ways.

      How do you become so courageous?

      Peter

      • Monica Diaz Says:

        I believe it is more simplicity than courage…but in the end it is about PRACTICE. You don’t have to be TOTALLY OPEN, just more than you usually are and then incrementally from there as long as you feel comfortable. Courage will follow that wonderful feeling of connecting at a human level.

  4. Tweets that mention Together,We Are Creating the Future of Our Twitter. « Bonnie Squires Blog -- Topsy.com Says:

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by bonnie, Monica Diaz, Fred【ツ】, TheStyleGent, Khanh and Peter Tran and others. Khanh and Peter Tran said: @Minervity I would be grateful and honored if you could give me feedback about my blog post. http://ht.ly/1FPtc […]

  5. @DrJackKing Says:

    Peter, I so very much appreciate you. Thank you for your insightful assessment of Twitter. I often find myself asking how we can do more on Twitter; after all, there remains SO very much more to do! I suppose, in large part, my contemplation stems from the Beauty I see when Twitter connects us to others like Stan and Hannibal, like Thomas, Monica, and Bonnie, or like you — people who refuse to allow inertia’s grip on the status quo hold them to a two-dimensional Twitter.

    For me, to tweet or not to tweet isn’t the question. Sure, we could be content saying nice things about others and having nice things said about us. We could find enjoyment in tweeting familiar quotes and wise sayings, counting the number of times our quote is RT’d. We could find some sense of comfort watching our number of followers climb, perhaps even soar. We can find joy, I suppose, in sharing tweets with the rich and famous, at least with those who enjoy the family feel of Twitter. We can even find a refuge, of sorts, helping others attain their goal of joining the rich and famous by helping them sell their wares via Twitter. But, at the end of the day, it seems to me such a conciliatory existence, though consciously chosen, leaves us socially, if not spiritually, deficient as the true collective power of Twitter speeds by.

    I suppose that’s because community, in ways great and small, is more than cordiality. I believe there is power in asking how a friend is doing, to wish her another a bright and beautiful day. But even with the best of manners as one of Twitters most outgoing and gracious tea time hosts, we can still miss great opportunities to arrive at a third dimension of Twitter: IRL (in real life). It is here I find great comfort in Monica’s comments, noting we can bring meaning to another if we are authentic with them, reaching out beyond Tweetdeck in real life through DMs, skype, phone, web conferences, Tweet-ups, and visits to a friend’s town or home IRL.

    But I also find myself yearning for something to be cherished as much, if not more than, the wonder of Twitter’s third dimension. What of space and time? What of mass and energy? More pointedly, what of those we do not yet know? For me, something is still missing. A train hastens its approach; there is no slowing down. How does one catch such a marvelous train?

    Essentially, we have to be on the platform, and at the ready. What does that mean? I think it means we have to be engaged in our living, to be prepared to jump from the safe ledges of life — the comfort zones of routine where the same old moderation stifles growth and lends us to a peaceful and content life that disguises living — to join those trusted few who work day in and day out to harness the strength found only in Twitter love. It is here, I believe, we are to create environments that allow us to cut through the rushing waters of noisy Twitter streams to attend real needs of real people, uplifting them with real hugs and real love. It is here living begins, because it is here love flourishes. Said differently, we catch the train by making ourselves vulnerable, by allowing the serving nature of our hearts reach out, with no judgment or fanfare, to firmly grasp the waiting, out-stretched hand of a stranger riding that speeding train, with the same love we gladly share with new-found friends.

    As I see it, Twitter has the horsepower of a locomotive to become a real life mover and shaker. As nice as it is to give and receive affirmation, to inspire and be inspired by a much needed quote, to follow and be followed, to teach and learn about fascinating topics such as leadership and baseball, it’s MUCH nicer still to see the virtual nature of Twitter for what it is ~ an awesome tool we can leverage to get out there in real life with real people in real places with real needs, giving them a real hug and real love in real time — even people we do not yet know! In so doing, we begin to put ‘social’ back into social media.

  6. Meryl Hobday Says:

    Beautiful images! I appreciate the post so much! xoxo

  7. Difyliany Says:

    Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

  8. Diana Adams Says:

    Thank you for this! I really enjoyed it. You are a great writer. 🙂

  9. vitamin d deficiency symptoms Says:

    Awesome work. I always find very unique posts here on your Blog.

  10. tommy Says:

    You need to keep this up. You will never get anywhere if you don’t try. Just remember WD-40 got its name from being the 40th formula that worked. Never give up, set a good business and marketing plan and then shoot the moon!

Leave a Reply

